Sunday, May 30, 2010

Miri Annual Convention 2010

The group from Area A1 consisted of 8 members from the Malacca Toastmasters Club.

At the District Executive Council Lunch, on the 1st day of the Convention, Area A1 Governor Azizah Abu Hassan,ACB,CL, received her award, in recognition for chartering a new club ie. Politeknik Merlimau Toastmasters Club.

Malacca Toastmasters Club was also recognised for achieving Distinguished Club status by 30 April 2010.

MTC President Joshua Ling was the proud recipient of the new Gavel presented by DG Ritchie.TM Siew Weng Yue created a lot of excitement in the ballroom when he was named as one of the 6 finalists in the District 51 Table Topic Contest.

Initially it was members of Area A1 who wanted to sealed the Convention experience by posing with DG Ritchie but in the end, the whole Division A contingent had their day!

The District is now split into District 51 (West Malaysia) & District 87 (East Malaysia/Brunei/Indonesia). The Incoming DGs are Thannimalai,ACS & Md Ariff,DTM, respectively.

Friday, May 14, 2010

Distinguished Club Status

to Malacca Toastmasters Club & ALAM Toastmasters Club for achieving Select Distinguished Club status as at 30 April 2010.

In addition, the Malacca Toastmasters Club will be recognized at the Miri Convention, for meeting the required criteria in the DCP Goals. Well Done Club President Joshua Ling,ACB,CL!

Sunday, May 2, 2010

President's Distinguished Area

Area A1 is President's Distinguished Area!!!

Clubs in Area A1
  1. Famosa Club
  2. Malacca Toastmasters Club
  3. ALAM Toastmasters Club
  4. Politeknik Merlimau Toastmasters Club
A BIG Thank You to the Club Presidents & Members for your contributions & support.

Area A1 Governor 2009-10

Saturday, April 24, 2010

Election of Area A1 Governor 2010-11

At the Area Council Meet on Thur 24 April 2010, council members from Famosa Club, Malacca Toastmasters Club, ALAM Toastmasters Club & Politeknik Merlimau Toastmasters Club unanimously elected ACB,ALB,Dzuhairy as the Area A1 Governor 2010-11.

Welcome On Board!

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Area A1 IS & TT Contests in ALAM

It was indeed a hot Saturday afternoon, 13 March 2010, in ALAM where the Area A1 IS & TT Contests were to be held.

When I arrived at the Lecture Theater I was impressed with the cadets' work in getting the Hall ready for the Contests. Mind you, this was the first time for the batch of student cadets.

Role Players:
Organisng Chair:Sharon Chiang,TM
Contest Chair :Jeffrey Lee,ACB
TOE :Capt.Khalid Hashmi,ACS
Tally Counter :Abdul Hadi / Geetha
Timer :Jason / Mahadevan
Chief Judge :Melvin Chan,CC

International Speech

  1. Oluwakayode
  2. Joshua Ling
  3. Marcus Chee
  4. Shahirah Abd Rahman
  5. Tirath Singh
  6. Pretty Philip
Table Topics
  1. Tirath Singh
  2. Oluwakayode
  3. Shahirah Abd Rahman
  4. Siew Weng Yue
  5. Dineswary Krishnan
International Speech
1st Place :Marcus Chee
2nd Place :Joshua Ling
3rd Place :Pretty Philip

Table Topics
1st Place :Siew Weng Yue
2nd Place :Dineswary Krishnan
3rd Place :Shahirah Abd Rahman

Congratulations to the winners, contestants, role players & also the audience!!!

The top 2 winners (or alternates) in each category shall represent Area A1 in the Division A contest on Sun 09 May 2010 in Johor Bahru.

Azizah Abu Hassan,ACB,CL
Area A1 Governor 2009-10

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Club Level IS & TT Contests

The 3 existing Clubs in Area A1 have completed their respective Club Level International Speech & Table Topics Contests. Here are the results:

International Speech:
  1. Marcus Chee - FC
  2. Oluwakayode Oyinlola Bolarinwa - FC
  3. Shivcharan Kaur - MTC
  4. Joshua Ling How Gin - MTC
  5. Pretty Philip - ATC
  6. Shahirah Abdul Rahman - ATC
Table Topics:
  1. Oluwakayode Oyinlola Bolarinwa - FC
  2. Ariff Imran bin Anuar Yatim - FC
  3. Shivcharan Kaur - MTC
  4. Siew Weng Yue - MTC
  5. Dineshwary Krishnan - ATC
  6. Shahirah Abdul Rahman - ATC
Politeknik Merlimau TC has decided not to compete, just yet. I am sure the members will be ready to take part in the Contests, next term.

All the Best to the contestants and/or their alternates, in the upcoming Area A1 Contests, on Sat 13 March 2010 to be held at 2pm in ALAM.

Area A1 Governor 2009-10
Azizah Abu Hassan,ACB,CL

Thursday, February 11, 2010

Area A1 International Speech & Table Topics Contest

Date : Sat 13 March 2010
Venue : ALAM,Melaka
Time : 2.00-5.00pm

Area A1 comprises of Toastmasters Clubs in Melaka.
  1. Famosa Club
  2. Malacca Toastmasters Club
  3. ALAM Toastmasters Club
  4. Politeknik Merlimau Toastmasters Club
Champions & 1st Runners Up from the respective Clubs will compete at the Area Level Contests.
Come & support the Contestants.